Summer Concert Preview

Summer Sing with Camerata‘s theme this year is, tongue-in-cheek, Dr. Travis’s “Mount Rushmore.”

No, it’s not music about South Dakota, nor is there any connection between the repertoire and the various presidents featured on that monument. Instead, Matt is referencing a figurative Mount Rushmore – music from composers who have had the most profound impact on him.

This concert’s repertoire will include the following sets:

Killer B’s

  • Magnificat (opening movement) – JS Bach
  • Civitas Sancti – William Byrd
  • Geistliches Leid – Johannes Brahms

Two Deums

  • Te Deum in C – Benjamin Britten
  • Te Deum – Franz Joseph Haydn

Piano Men

  • You Don’t Know Me – Ben Folds
  • Lullabye – Billy Joel
  • The Luckiest – Ben Folds

Felix, What a Cat

  • Laudate Pueri – Felix Mendelssohn
  • How Lovely Are the Messengers – Felix Mendelssohn
  • Happy and Blest Are They – Felix Mendelssohn
  • Thanks Be To God (from Elijah) – Felix Mendelssohn